It All Starts Now | News Centre | Edinburgh Monarchs Speedway | Official Club Website

It All Starts Now

NEWS Wednesday 29th March 2017, 6:48pm

by Graham Muncie

The 21st season of racing starts at Armadale this week with the Harrison’s Scottish Open Championship with many believing this is the most competitive field in the competition in years.

The Open was first run all the way back in 1928 and can count 5 world champions including current champion Greg Hancock among its former winners and while he is not among the competitors this time around a strong field has been assembled with many being capable of lifting the famous Jack Young Memorial Trophy that is presented to the winner.

Leading the field is reigning champion and Monarchs number 1 Sam Masters. Sam took victory the last time the competition was run in 2014 and is looking forward to defending his title

Sam knows he won’t have it all his own way this Friday though with all 6 of his Parsons Peebles Monarchs teammates doing battle as well.

Many will be expecting a big challenge to come from Monarchs new recruit American Ricky Wells who before joining had the label of ‘the best visitor to Armadale’

Two former Monarchs league winning heroes will also be among the favourites in the form of three time winner Rory Schlein and 2014 and 15 star Justin Sedgmen.

A host of top stars from the rebranded Speedway GB Championship will also be in attendance with Glasgow top men Aaron Summers and Richard Lawson sure to be in the mix.

Berwick’s ever popular Kevin Doolan is joined by tracks experts Ludvig Lindgren, Ulrich Ostergaard, Josh Grazcjonek and Matthew Wethers to complete what is a fierce line-up and it is sure to ne a hotly contested night of racing with 22 heats to be held.

We are pleased to welcome back Harrison’s Ford of Peebles as title sponsor for the event and a party from Harrisons will be in attendance in our hospitality area alongside the heat sponsors of the meeting.

Line-up (in riding order) for the Harrison’s Scottish Open Championship at Armadale on Friday 31st March (start time 7:15pm, gates open 6:30pm), are:

1. Josh Grajczonek (Sheffield & Somerset)

2. Josh Pickering (Edinburgh)

3. Richard Lawson (Glasgow)

4. Aaron Summers (Glasgow)

5. Ludvig Lindgren (Newcastle)

6. Erik Riss (Edinburgh & Leicester)

7. Kevin Doolan (Berwick)

8. Matthew Wethers (Unattached)

9. Sam Masters (Edinburgh & Wolverhampton)

10. Justin Sedgmen (Belle Vue)

11. Max Clegg (Edinburgh & Wolverhampton)

12. Ricky Wells (Edinburgh)

13. Mark Riss (Edinburgh)

14. Rory Schlein (Ipswich)

15. Mitchell Davey (Edinburgh)

16. Ulrich Ostergaard (Peterborough)

VERY STRONG LINE UP: As previously mentioned many have commented that this is the strongest line-up for the Open in years with anyone capable of lifting the Jack Young Trophy. Many will view Sam Masters as the favourite with his main competition coming from Ricky Wells, Rory Schlein or Justin Sedgmen however outside of debutant Josh Pickering every one of the riders on show has had big nights at Armadale and on their night could be the one on top of the podium after 22 enthralling heats on Friday night.

NEXT MEETING: On Friday 7th April the Parsons Peebles Monarchs begin their quest to win the Speedway GB Championship with Scunthorpe Scorpions the visitors.