Third time for Bears visit | News Centre | Edinburgh Monarchs Speedway | Official Club Website
The late season Monarchs lineup Image Credit: Jack Cupido

Third time for Bears visit

NEWS Monday 11th October 2021, 9:49pm

by Mike Hunter

Unfortunate circumstances which included a very nasty crash and injury to James Sarjeant last Friday have forced a third attempt to run the second leg of the Championship Playoff between the What the Fork Monarchs and the Redcar Bears in a rare Tuesday night fixture tomorrow.

We are pleased to know that Sarjeant is on the mend and was able to attend the meeting at Glasgow last Sunday. We wish him well.

Monarchs are 12 points up from the first leg at Redcar back on 3rd October, and so should be favourites to qualify for the semi-final which is against Glasgow! However no-one is jumping the gun, the Bears are an excellent team.

Monarchs' Chairman and Team manager Alex Harkess refused to look any further than Tuesday as he said "We haven't completed the Playoff semi-final yet, so we want to get that out of the way before thinking ahead. If we are heading for Glasgow again in the Playoffs, I am sure we will do better than we did last Sunday in the Knockout Cup."

Bears are awaiting a fitness report on Michael Palm Toft (broken fingers) who attempted a comeback in the Premiership Playoff final at Belle Vue last night. He rode superbly but was obviously in pain. We understand that Ben Barker stands by to guest if he isn't fit.

As with all Armadale matches this season Friday's match will be Live Streamed, and on this occasion there will be no distance limit - the stream is available to everyone no matter where they reside.

Tuesday 12th October: What the Fork Monarchs v Redcar (Championship Playoff second leg), Armadale, 7:30pm

WHAT THE FORK MONARCHS: Sam Masters (capt.), Anders Rowe, Kye Thomson, Josh Pickering, Richie Worrall, Drew Kemp, Jason Edwards

AGILIA BEARS: Charles Wright (capt.), rider replacement for James Sarjeant, Jake Allen, Michael Palm Toft or guest Ben Barker, Lewis Kerr, Ryan Kinsley, Jordan Jenkins.